Twenty20 International (T20)

3. Twenty20 International (T20):- A Twenty20 International (T20I) is a short form of cricket, played between two of the international members of the International Cricket Council (ICC), in which each team faces twenty overs. The matches have top-class status and are the highest T20 standard.
The game is played under the rules of Twenty20 cricket. Since 2005, the T20I status only applied to Full Members and some Associate Member teams. However, in April 2018, the ICC announced that it will grant T20I status to all its 105 members from 1 January 2019. The shortened format was initially introduced to bolster crowds for the domestic game and was not intended to be played internationally, but the first Twenty20 International took place on 17 February 2005 when Australia defeated New Zealand, and the first tournament was played two years later, with the introduction of the ICC World Twenty20. In 2016, for the first time in a calendar year, more Twenty20 International matches (100) were played than ODI matches (99). There remain limits on how many Twenty20 Internationals a team can play each year, in order to protect Test cricket and One Day Internationals. As of 2017, 18 nations featured in ICC T20I team rankings.Twenty20 International format also sees one mandatory powerplay taken in the first six overs. This shorter format of the game makes reaching the traditional milestones of scoring a century or taking five wickets in an innings more difficult.

Teams with T20 International debuts:-
  1.  New Zealand (17 February 2005)
  2.  Australia (17 February 2005)
  3.  England (13 June 2005)
  4.  South Africa (21 October 2005)
  5.  West Indies (16 February 2006)
  6.  Sri Lanka (15 June 2006)
  7.  Pakistan (28 August 2006)
  8.  Bangladesh (28 November 2006)
  9.  Zimbabwe (28 November 2006)
  10.  India (1 December 2006)
  11.  Afghanistan (5 February 2018)
  12.  Ireland (12 June 2018)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *